Jump to ContentJump to Main Navigation
Charles Ives's ConcordEssays after a Sonata$
Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content.

Kyle Gann

Print publication date: 2017

Print ISBN-13: 9780252040856

Published to Illinois Scholarship Online: January 2018

DOI: 10.5406/illinois/9780252040856.001.0001

Show Summary Details
Page of

PRINTED FROM ILLINOIS SCHOLARSHIP ONLINE (www.illinois.universitypressscholarship.com). (c) Copyright Illinois University Press, 2018. All Rights Reserved. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a PDF of a single chapter of a monograph in ISO for personal use (for details see www.illinois.universitypressscholarship.com/page/privacy-policy).date: 22 January 2019



(p.157) 8 “Hawthorne”
Charles Ives's Concord

Kyle Gann

University of Illinois Press

Ives’s “Hawthorne” movement is a complicated essay in moment form – a kind of collage of discontinuous and fairly static musical moments. Being inspired by a story about a train, it runs on ostinatos (repeating bass figures). For decades Kirkpatrick’s analysis of the movement in seven parts has prevailed, but a more detailed approach recognizes ten distinct sections: one imitating a brass band, another evoking the pilgrim’s in Hawthorne’s story, and others showing Ives’s idiosyncratic conception of ragtime.

Keywords:   Nathaniel Hawthorne, John Kirkpatrick, ostinato, moment form, ragtime

Illinois Scholarship Online requires a subscription or purchase to access the full text of books within the service. Public users can however freely search the site and view the abstracts and keywords for each book and chapter.

Please, subscribe or login to access full text content.

If you think you should have access to this title, please contact your librarian.

To troubleshoot, please check our FAQs, and if you can't find the answer there, please contact us.