Digital Critical Editions

Digital Critical Editions

Daniel Apollon and Claire Belisle

Print publication date: 2017

ISBN: 9780252038402

Publisher: University of Illinois Press


This book examines how transitioning from print to a digital milieu deeply affects how scholars deal with the work of editing critical texts. On one hand, forces like changing technology and evolving reader expectations lead to the development of specific editorial products, while on the other hand, they threaten traditional forms of knowledge and methods of textual scholarship. Using the experiences of philologists, text critics, text encoders, scientific editors, and media analysts, the book ranges from philology in ancient Alexandria to the vision of user-supported online critical editing, from peer-directed texts distributed to a few to community-edited products shaped by the many. It discusses the production and accessibility of documents, the emergence of tools used in scholarly work, new editing regimes, and how the readers' expectations evolve as they navigate digital texts. The goal: exploring questions such as, what kind of text is produced? Why is it produced in this particular way? The book provides digital editors, researchers, readers, and technological actors with insights for addressing disruptions that arise from the clash of traditional and digital cultures, while also offering a practical roadmap for processing traditional texts and collections with today's state-of-the-art editing and research techniques thus addressing readers' new emerging reading habits.

Table of Contents


Daniel Apollon, Claire Bélisle, and Philippe Régnier

Part I History, Challenges, and Emerging Contexts

1. The Digital Turn in Textual Scholarship

Odd Einar Haugen and Daniel Apollon

3. The Digital Fate of the Critical Apparatus

Daniel Apollon and Claire Bélisle

Part II Text Technologies

6. Digital Critical Editing

Alois Pichler and Tone Merete Bruvik

Part III New Practices, New Contents, New Policies

7. The Making of an Edition

Odd Einar Haugen