Jump to ContentJump to Main Navigation

Awards and Reviews

The University of Illinois Press books and authors are recipients of numerous awards and accolades. For a comprehensive list of book awards by year, please visit the University of Illinois Press Awards page, or see a select list of winners below:

When Sex Threatened the State
Illicit Sexuality, Nationalism, and Politics in Colonial Nigeria, 1900-1958
Saheed Aderinto

  • NSA Book Award, Nigerian Studies Association, 2016

St. Louis Rising
The French Regime of Louis St. Ange de Bellerive
Carl J. Ekberg and Sharon K. Person

  • Missouri History Book Award, State Historical Society of Missouri, 2016
  • A Choice Outstanding Academic Title, 2015

Scripts of Blackness
Race, Cultural Nationalism, and U.S. Colonialism in Puerto Rico
Isar P. Godreau

  • Co-winner of the Frank Bonilla Book Award, Puerto Rican Studies Association, 2016

Sensing Chicago
Noisemakers, Strikebreakers, and Muckrakers
Adam Mack

  • Award of Superior Achievement, Illinois State Historical Society, 2016

Sexting Panic
Rethinking Criminalization, Privacy, and Consent
Amy Adele Hasinoff

  • Diamond Anniversary Book Award, National Communication Association (NCA), 2016

The Mormon Tabernacle Choir
A Biography
Michael Hicks

  • Finalist, Utah Book Award for Nonfiction, Utah Center for the Book, 2016
  • Honorable Mention, Best Biography, Mormon History Association, 2016

Manhood on the Line
Working-Class Masculinities in the American Heartland
Stephen Meyer

  • Book of the Year, International Labor History Association, 2016

Making Photography Matter
A Viewer's History from the Civil War to the Great Depression
Cara A. Finnegan

  • James A. Winans and Herbert A. Wichelns Memorial Award for Distinguished Scholarship in Rhetoric and Public Address, National Communication Association (NCA), 2016
  • Outstanding Book of the Year, Visual Communication Division, National Communication Association (NCA), 2015

Funk the Erotic
Transaesthetics and Black Sexual Cultures
L. H. Stallings

  • Emily Toth Award for Best Single Work by One or More Authors in Women's Studies, Popular Culture Association/American Culture Association (PCA/ACA), 2016
  • Finalist, 28th Annual Lambda Literary Awards, LGBT Studies, 2016
  • Alan Bray Memorial Book Award, GL/Q Caucus of the Modern Language Association, 2016

Civil Rights in the Texas Borderlands
Dr. Lawrence A. Nixon and Black Activism
Will Guzmán

  • C. Calvin Smith Award, Southern Conference on African American Studies (SCAASI), 2016

The Beautiful Music All Around Us
Field Recordings and the American Experience
Stephen Wade

  • Judith McCulloh Public Sector Award, Society for Ethnomusicology, 2016
  • ASCAP Deems Taylor Award, 2013
  • Award for Excellence for Best Research in Folk, Ethnic, or World Music, Association for Recorded Sound Collections (ARSC), 2013