Jump to ContentJump to Main Navigation
Marga Richter - Illinois Scholarship Online
Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content.

Marga Richter

Sharon Mirchandani


This is the first full-length introduction to the life and works of American composer Marga Richter (born 1926), who has written more than a hundred works for orchestra, chamber ensemble, dance, opera, voice, chorus, piano, organ, and harpsichord. Still actively composing in her eighties, Richter is particularly known for her large-scale pieces performed by ensembles such as the London Philharmonic Orchestra and the Civic Orchestra of Chicago and for other pieces performed by prominent artists including pianist Menahem Pressler, conductor Izler Solomon, and violinist Daniel Heifetz. Interspers ... More

Keywords: modern dance, Marga Richter, Menahem Pressler, Izler Solomon, Daniel Heifetz, London Philharmonic Orchestra, Civic Orchestra of Chicago, 1970s feminism, musical style, compositions

Bibliographic Information

Print publication date: 2012 Print ISBN-13: 9780252037313
Published to Illinois Scholarship Online: April 2017 DOI:10.5406/illinois/9780252037313.001.0001


Affiliations are at time of print publication.

Sharon Mirchandani, author
Westminster Choir College of Rider University